ResearchResearch summary
Natamycin plus lactulose for vaginal yeast infection: a trial
A 2025 trial compared one six-day vaginal natamycin–lactulose product with natamycin and lactulose alone; its short-term results have narrow limits.
In this pathway
- Current topic
- Natamycin plus lactulose for vaginal yeast infection: a trialCurrent

Bottom line
This trial found higher short-term clinical recovery with one fixed-dose vaginal natamycin–lactulose product than with lactulose alone or the specific natamycin comparator in its per-protocol population. It does not establish how the product compares with recommended azole regimens or change treatment guidance.
Why this source matters
The study adds a direct comparison for one combination product in acute vulvovaginal candidiasis. Its comparators and short follow-up set narrow limits on what the result can say about other treatments or durable benefit.
Study and population
Six sites in Belarus and Russia randomized 218 females aged 18–60 with symptomatic, microscopy-positive VVC and vaginal pH ≤4.5. Pregnancy, lactation, and recurrent VVC were excluded; Table 1 described all participants as White. The primary per-protocol analysis included 209 participants.
What was tested
Participants used one vaginal suppository nightly for six days: natamycin 100 mg plus lactulose 300 mg, lactulose 300 mg alone, or Pimafucin natamycin 100 mg. The trial was open-label to participants and treating staff; outcome assessors were blinded at visits 2 and 3. The primary outcome was clinical recovery around day 7.
Results
At day 7, clinical recovery was 71/87 (81.6%) with the combination, 15/35 (42.9%) with lactulose, and 55/87 with Pimafucin. The article prints 62.3% for 55/87 (which calculates to 63.2%) and reports an 18.4-point combination difference. At day 20–27, clinical recovery was 79/87 (90.8%), 22/35 (62.9%), and 68/87 (78.2%), respectively.
For day-7 microscopic recovery, the paper prints 69/87 (75.9%) for the combination and 65/87 (71.3%) for Pimafucin; the counts calculate to 79.3% and 74.7%. Lactulose was 16/35 (45.7%). At visit 3, the reported counts were 79/87 (90.8%), 26/35 (74.3%), and 77/87 (88.5%); the paper reported no combination-versus-Pimafucin difference at either visit.
The article also prints 61/87 (71.1%) for day-7 overall clinical plus microscopic recovery; 61/87 calculates to 70.1%. In the safety set, any adverse event occurred in 6/91 (6.59%), 0/36, and 10/90 (11.1%), with no serious adverse events reported. Normal lactobacilli counts at visit 3 were a surrogate outcome: 48/91 (52.2%), 12/36 (33.3%), and 29/90 (32.2%).
Applicability
These results apply narrowly to the tested products and the selected, nonpregnant adults with acute VVC at the study sites. The trial did not compare with standard azole treatment, enroll people with recurrent VVC, or establish product availability, safety advice, or preferred treatment in the United States, Poland, or another market.
Limitations
Participants and treating clinicians knew the assigned product, the primary analysis was per protocol after post-randomization exclusions, and the study stopped early at an interim efficacy boundary. It was registered after the trial ended, followed participants for about a month, and did not report an imputation strategy in the main text. All participants were described as White. The main article also contains the unresolved count/percentage and endpoint-description discrepancies listed above. Lactobacilli results are surrogate measurements, not evidence that future episodes are prevented.
Contribution to the evidence
This is a contextual, product-specific signal from one short-term trial. It does not set the evidence level for broader acute VVC treatment claims or support a treatment hierarchy.
Practical change
No practical change follows from this study alone. It does not compare the fixed-dose product with recommended azole regimens, establish local access or contraindications, or change the current next step for treatment decisions.
Funding and conflicts
JSC “AVVA RUS” funded the study and makes the combination product. The paper reports that OVM, SAT, and EAL were employees of AVVA RUS JSC. The declarations inspected did not report the sponsor's role in study design, conduct, analysis, manuscript preparation, or publication decisions.
Source
Original article, published February 20, 2025. Trial registration: NCT06411314, retrospectively registered May 13, 2024.
Study type, population, and sample scale
- Study type
- International multicenter, three-arm randomized superiority trial; open-label to participants and treating staff, with blinded outcome assessment at visits 2 and 3.
- Population
- Females aged 18–60 with symptomatic, microscopy-positive acute vulvovaginal candidiasis and vaginal pH ≤4.5 at six sites in Belarus and Russia. Pregnant and lactating participants and people with recurrent VVC were excluded; all participants were described as White in Table 1.
- Sample scale
- 218 randomized (92 combination, 36 lactulose, 90 Pimafucin/natamycin); primary per-protocol analysis 209 (87, 35, 87); safety set 217 (91, 36, 90).
Results
- The primary per-protocol endpoint was clinical recovery at visit 2 (day 7 ±1). The paper reports 71/87 (81.6%; 95% CI 72.2–88.4) with natamycin plus lactulose and 15/35 (42.9%; 95% CI 28.0–59.1) with lactulose alone; reported difference 38.8 percentage points (95% CI 19.9–55.1; one-sided Fisher p<0.001).
- For the day-7 comparison with Pimafucin/natamycin, the paper reports 55/87 (62.3%; 95% CI 52.7–72.6), an 18.4-point difference (95% CI 5.11–30.9; p=0.005). The count 55/87 calculates to 63.2%; both the printed percentage and the reported difference are preserved here without reconciliation.
- At visit 3 (day 20–27), clinical recovery was 79/87 (90.8%) with the combination, 22/35 (62.9%) with lactulose (p<0.001 versus combination), and 68/87 (78.2%) with Pimafucin (p=0.021 versus combination). The article gives no confidence intervals or absolute differences for these comparisons in the text.
- For reported microscopic recovery at visit 2, the paper prints 69/87 (75.9%) for the combination and 65/87 (71.3%) for Pimafucin; those counts calculate to 79.3% and 74.7%, respectively. Lactulose was 16/35 (45.7%). At visit 3, the reported counts were 79/87 (90.8%), 26/35 (74.3%), and 77/87 (88.5%). The combination differed from lactulose at both visits, but no combination-versus-Pimafucin difference was reported at either visit.
- For combined clinical and microscopic recovery at visit 2, the article reports 61/87 (71.1%) with the combination and 8/35 with lactulose; 61/87 calculates to 70.1%. It reports p<0.001 versus lactulose and p=0.083 versus Pimafucin. At visit 3, the article reports 74/87 (85.1%) versus 18/35 (51.4%) for combination and lactulose (p<0.001); its prose does not give the Pimafucin count.
- In the safety set, at least one adverse event was reported for 6/91 (6.59%) with the combination, 0/36 with lactulose, and 10/90 (11.1%) with Pimafucin (p=0.284 for combination versus Pimafucin); no serious adverse events were reported. Normal lactobacilli counts at visit 3, a surrogate outcome, were reported for 48/91 (52.2%), 12/36 (33.3%), and 29/90 (32.2%), respectively.
Limitations
- The trial reported higher day-7 clinical recovery for the fixed-dose combination than for its two comparators in the per-protocol population.
- Participants and treating staff knew the assigned treatment; blinded assessors reduce but do not remove performance and expectation effects. The primary analysis excluded nine randomized participants, and no imputation approach for missing outcomes is reported in the main text.
- The paper describes a phase III randomized superiority study with an adaptive group-sequential design and says it stopped after an interim efficacy threshold was reached.
- Early stopping can overstate an effect. The 36-person lactulose arm was smaller than the other arms, and trial registration on 13 May 2024 was retrospective, after recruitment ended in July 2023.
- The primary assessment was around day 7, with a later visit around days 20–27 and stated study duration of about 34 days.
- Follow-up was short and the study included no recurrent VVC population, so it did not test recurrence prevention or durable benefit. Lactobacilli counts are a microbiological surrogate, not evidence of future recurrence reduction or patient-important long-term benefit.
- The main article gives absolute counts and percentages for several outcomes.
- It prints 55/87 as 62.3%, 69/87 as 75.9%, 65/87 as 71.3%, and 61/87 as 71.1%; those fractions calculate to 63.2%, 79.3%, 74.7%, and 70.1%. The abstract describes the primary endpoint as absence of symptoms, while Methods define it as absence of significant signs and symptoms. Results alternate between microscopy and culture descriptions. These reporting differences are left unresolved.
- The study evaluated one fixed-dose combination against lactulose alone and a specific natamycin product.
- It did not compare a recommended azole regimen, test oral versus vaginal treatment, or establish an effect beyond the studied products and population. All participants were described as White and were recruited at sites in Belarus and Russia.
- The study reported no serious adverse events during its short follow-up.
- The safety groups were small, confidence intervals for adverse-event rates were not reported, and the study cannot rule out uncommon or longer-term harms.
Applies to
- The short-term results for the exact six-day vaginal natamycin–lactulose, lactulose-only, and Pimafucin regimens studied in adults with confirmed acute VVC.
- Readers assessing what this one trial can add to the broader evidence on confirmed acute VVC treatment.
Does not apply to
- Pregnancy, lactation, recurrent or complicated VVC, other excluded groups, or people whose symptoms have not been evaluated and confirmed as VVC.
- A comparison with oral or topical azoles, a recommendation to use this product, long-term recurrence prevention, or current product access in the United States, Poland, or another market.
Contribution to the current conclusion
Contextual
This sponsor-funded trial adds short-term, product-specific evidence for a fixed-dose vaginal natamycin–lactulose suppository. Its component and natamycin comparators do not establish effectiveness versus recommended azole regimens, set a body-of-evidence level, or change treatment guidance.
Related evidence mapPractical change or no change
No practical change. This single sponsor-funded trial does not establish comparative effectiveness against recommended azole regimens, set a body-of-evidence level, establish access or safety for a local product, or change treatment guidance.
Funding and conflicts
- Funding
- JSC “AVVA RUS” funded the study and manufactures the combination product. The sponsor's role in design, conduct, analysis, manuscript drafting, or publication decisions was not reported in the declarations inspected.
- Conflicts
- Authors OVM, SAT, and EAL declared employment with AVVA RUS JSC, which produces the combination suppositories.
- Paper date
- 2025-02-20
Sources
View all 1 source
- Efficacy and safety of vaginal suppositories containing combination of Natamycin and Lactulose in treatment of vulvovaginal candidiasis: international, randomized, controlled, superiority clinical trial (combination of Natamycin and Lactulose for treatment of vulvovaginal candidiasis)
- Source type
- Randomized trial
- Published
- 2025-02-20